Show/Hide University Links

Philosophy Databases

Subject Librarian

Jeff Lacy

jeff.lacy@utsa.edu

(210) 458-7507

Research Guides

Philosophy

Best Bets

Philosopher's Index

1940 to the present
Indexes and abstracts scholarly research in the major fields of philosophy, including ethics, philosophy of education, metaphysics, philosophy of science, logic, philosophy of religion, and others. Covers over 570 U.S. and international journals and books. Includes authors' contributions to anthologies and book reviews.More

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Features full-text journal coverage of philosophical studies and theology from over 300 journals. Includes topics such as world religions, religious denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy. Title list

Humanities International Index

1925 to the present
Indexes and abstracts over 2,000 journals, books, and other internationally published works on a variety of topics in the humanities. Provides citation information for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works, including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings, and illustrations. Note: Absorbed American Humanities Index, effective December 2005.More

Philpapers.org

Search the contents of over 300 philosophy journals as well online papers and archives from academic philosophers.

JSTOR

Provides full image access to a comprehensive archive of over 2,000 scholarly journals, over 200 of which have complete backfiles. Nearly 40 subject areas are represented in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. New subjects and titles are added regularly. Links to the most recent issues of some journals are available through Project MUSE.More

Project MUSE

Provides the searchable full text and full images of approximately 380 journals published by scholarly presses, including Johns Hopkins University Press. Subject areas include math, science, humanities, and social sciences. Provides links to back issues of 29 journals archived in the JSTOR collection.More

Philosophy on the Web/Past Masters

Provides full-text access to major works of classical and modern philosophy, including those by Aquinas, Aristotle, John Dewey, Kant, Martin Luther, Ockham, Santayana, and Wittgenstein, among many others. Includes works of political and religious thought by individual authors, as well as works representative of philosophical movements pertaining to time periods and geographic regions (e.g., British philosophy, 1600-1900). Works are presented in their original language or in translation; non-English-language works may be translated roughly into English by using the "Tools--Translate" feature.More