Show/Hide University Links

Music Databases

Subject Librarian

DeeAnn Green

deeann.green@utsa.edu

210-458-6666

Research Guides

Music

Best Bets

Classical Music Reference Library

Contains reference materials spanning the history of Western classical music, with comprehensive coverage of all classical genres. Includes definitions of musical terms and biographical information on the major classical composers and artists in Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, and Women Composers: Music Through the Ages, as well as biographies, chronologies, primary source readings, and critical texts.

This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online".
More

Classical Scores Library I

Provides access to over 24,000 of the most important classical music scores for compositions from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Includes full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions of pieces. Many of the scores have linked streaming music tracks in Classical Music Library.

This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.
More

Classical Scores Library II

Provides access to over 24,000 of the most important classical music scores for compositions from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Includes full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions of pieces. Many of the scores have linked streaming music tracks in Classical Music Library.

This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.
More

Music Index Online

1975 to the present
Indexes over 800 U.S. and international periodicals in music and related fields, as well as book reviews; obituaries; and news about music, musicians, and the music industry. Includes music and performance reviews.More

Music Online

Cross-searches eight music collections from Alexander Street Press, including over 23,000 classical music scores, nearly 300,000 streaming music tracks in a variety of genres, and major music encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Databases include Classical Scores Library, Classical Music Library, Jazz Music Library, American Song, Contemporary World Music, Classical Music Reference Library, African American Music Reference, and Garland Encyclopedia of Music Online.
More

Naxos Music Library

1150-present
Contains over 700,000 audio tracks on 51,000 discs from 250 independent recording labels. Classical music is the primary genre, but also includes world/folk music, Chinese orchestral, and traditional music. Includes 10,000 composer and artist biographies, as well as libretti and synopses of over 700 operas.

Note: Requires Adobe Flash Player version 10 for PC or version 9 for MAC.
More

Oxford History of Western Music

Online, interactive version of the five-volume Oxford History of Western Music that provides a historical account of Western music from the earliest notations through the late twentieth century. Examines the intertwined relationships of music, history, culture, politics, art, literature, and religion. Contains all content from the print version, including text, images, and musical examples.More

Oxford Music Online

Most recent edition
Comprehensive music reference resource and logical starting place for biographies, definitions, or information on almost any musical topic. Coverage includes classical music, opera, popular music, jazz, folk, and world music from many cultures and countries. Most articles offer bibliographies, and articles on composers provide detailed lists of works.

Provides access to Grove Music Online, which includes the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Opera and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Also included is access to Oxford Companion to Music and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
More

RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

1967 to the present
Cites materials covering all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. For 19th and early 20th century coverage, see RIPM.

Vast: Classical Music

Provides access to over 24,000 of the most important classical music scores for compositions from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Includes full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions of pieces. Many of the scores have linked streaming music tracks in Classical Music Library.

This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.
More