Signup For Updates
Modern Languages & Literature Databases
- 1993 to present
- Provides reviews of children's literature, features of children's authors/illustrators and topical news from the world of children's literature from a variety of publications. Especially useful for locating reviews of more obscure titles and small press books. Includes information on recipients of the Newbery, Jane Addams Book Award, Caldcecott, Golden Nite, etc.
Note: Trial access will remain available until April 21, 2014.More
- Interactive language learning software. Includes vocabulary flash cards, pronunciation practice, activities/games, language and culture blogs, online social communities, video-based grammar lessons. Basic to intermediate level. More than 70 languages offered, including ESL.
Users MUST create an account when they first use this online tool - that is how it tracks your learning modules.More
- Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, Literature Resource Center is an important resource for information on more than 120,000 literary figures searchable by name, title, genre, movement/time period, and theme. Includes significant full text from resources such as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.More
- 1923 to the present
- Indexes critical scholarship on literature, criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes over 4,400 titles including journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Some links to full text in the JSTOR Language and Literature collection dating from 1881 are available.More
- Provides full image access to a comprehensive archive of over 2,000 scholarly journals, over 200 of which have complete backfiles. Nearly 40 subject areas are represented in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. New subjects and titles are added regularly. Links to the most recent issues of some journals are available through Project MUSE.More
- Provides the searchable full text and full images of approximately 380 journals published by scholarly presses, including Johns Hopkins University Press. Subject areas include math, science, humanities, and social sciences. Provides links to back issues of 29 journals archived in the JSTOR collection.More
- 1973 to the present
- Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics as well as descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Over 2,500 journals are selectively indexed/abstracted.