Show/Hide University Links

Civil Engineering Databases

Subject Librarian

Jeff McAdams

jeff.mcadams@utsa.edu

210-458-4583

Research Guides

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Best Bets

ASCE Library

1983 - current
Provides access to over 77,000 technical and professional civil engineering articles published in all 33 ASCE journals and conference proceedings

ASTM Digital Library

1983 - current
Provides access to standards and journals published by ASTM on aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

Environment Abstracts

1975 to the present
Indexes and abstracts over 900 U.S. and international journals covering the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. Also includes conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations, and private corporations. Expanded coverage of energy-related issues is available beginning in 1994. Some publications are available in the Envirofiche microfiche collection.More

Environmental Engineering Abstracts

1990 to the present
Indexes and abstracts over 300 international publications pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. Sources include more than 500 primary journals, as well as over 2,500 additional monographs and conference proceedings.More

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management

1967 to the present
Indexes and abstracts more than 6,000 scientific journals, books, conference proceedings, reports, and government documents. Topics covered include environment, ecology, energy, water resources, health and safety, population, pollution, hazardous waste, risk, bacteriology, microbiology, and toxicology. Includes 14 database subfiles.

IHS Standards

Most recent editions
Provides access to a number of engineering and architecture related standards, including the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (sections II and X) and the AEC Referenced Standards collection. For IEEE standards, see IEEE Xplore/IEE Electronic Library Online (IEL).

ScienceDirect

For some journals, begins in the 1950s
Provides full-text access to approximately 1,500 journals, and hundreds of ebooks published by Elsevier. Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 1,800 journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.

Web of Science

1965 to the present
Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 8,400 journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Also includes conference proceedings citations (1990 to the present).

Print equivalents published by the Institute for Scientific Information are Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index.
More