Show/Hide University Links

BioEngineering Databases

Subject Librarian

Jeff McAdams

jeff.mcadams@utsa.edu

210-458-4583

Research Guides

Biomedical Engineering

Best Bets

ASTM Digital Library

1983 - current
Provides access to standards and journals published by ASTM on aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts

1982 to the present
Provides citations and abstracts from over 700 journals, books, reports, and patents for research, applications, and regulatory developments across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology. Includes 8 database subfiles.

Biotechnology Research Abstracts

1980 to the present
Indexes and abstracts international research on all aspects of biochemical, medical, and microbial technology as applied to bioengineering, medicine, agriculture, and environmental science.

Biotechnology Research Abstracts is formed by the merger of Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts, BioEngineering Abstracts, and Medical & Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts.
More

Compendex

1884 to the present
Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with over 9.7 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials.

IEEE Xplore/IET Electronic Library Online (IEL)

1988 to the present
Provides full-text journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards published by IEEE and the IEE. Emphasis is on electrical engineering, computer science, and information systems.

IEEE Xplore Mobile

Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts(Microbiology A)

1982 to the present
(Also known as Microbiology Abstracts Section A: Industrial and Applied Microbiology) Indexes and summarizes research and practitioner literature relating to microbiological applications in the agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries. Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts is a subfile of Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts and Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Abstracts.More

PubMed

1960s to the present
Produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, NLM's database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. See also MEDLINE.

ScienceDirect

For some journals, begins in the 1950s
Provides full-text access to approximately 1,500 journals, and hundreds of ebooks published by Elsevier. Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 1,800 journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.

Web of Science

1965 to the present
Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 8,400 journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Also includes conference proceedings citations (1990 to the present).

Print equivalents published by the Institute for Scientific Information are Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index.
More