Show/Hide University Links

Biology Databases

Subject Librarian

Jeff McAdams

jeff.mcadams@utsa.edu

210-458-4583

Research Guides

Biology

Best Bets

Biological Abstracts

1969 to the present
Provides bibliographic references and abstracts of international life science journal literature. Includes citations to articles about agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology.

Biological Science Collection

1971-present
This collection includes more than 25 databases covering all aspects of biological and related fields, such as bacteriology, bioengineering, ecology, immunology, micro and molecular biology, neurosciences, protozoology, toxicology, virology and zoology. Provides access to literature from scholarly and trade journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, selected books and other materials.More

PubMed

1960s to the present
Produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, NLM's database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. See also MEDLINE.

ScienceDirect

For some journals, begins in the 1950s
Provides full-text access to approximately 1,500 journals, and hundreds of ebooks published by Elsevier. Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 1,800 journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.

SpringerLink

Provides electronic access to over 1,600 journals and hundreds of ebooks published by Springer-Verlag in chemical sciences, economics, environmental sciences, life sciences, law, medicine, computer science, engineering, geosciences, mathematics, and physics.

Web of Science

1965 to the present
Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 8,400 journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Also includes conference proceedings citations (1990 to the present).

Print equivalents published by the Institute for Scientific Information are Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index.
More

Wiley Online Library

Provides full-text access to approximately 800 journals in a variety of disciplines published by Wiley, as well as over 1,700 ebooks.