Show/Hide University Links

Government Information Databases

Best Bets

American FactFinder

A search engine that provides access to the population, housing and economic data collected by the U.S. Census Bureau. Currently includes data from 2000 and 2010 Census, American Community Surveys (ACS), Population Estimates and the Economic Census and Surveys. Use Guided or Advanced Search to retrieve detailed tables. Community Facts allows quick retrieval of the most common data about a community.More

Historical Statistics of the U.S.

Historical statistics for the U.S. from colonial times through the 20th century, covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, as well as governance and international relations. Recently updated.

MetaLib

Find U.S. government reports, articles, data and citations by simultaneously searching across multiple subject based databases, catalogs, and digital repositories. Search all or create your own sets of searchable databases from such sources as EPA, ERIC, GAO, Data.gov, FdSys, NCJRS, National Archives and Library of Congress.More

ProQuest Congressional

1789 to the present
Comprehensive full image coverage of U.S. Congressional publications 1789-present, including hearings, prints, reports, Serial Set maps, bills and laws, Congressional Record, Congressional Research Service Reports, and information on Congressional members and committees. Updated daily.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Dates vary.
Summarizes U.S. social, political and economic data in convenient tables from a wide variety of Federal and State agencies as well as private organizations. Tables available in either PDF or Excel. Check original sources of data for more detailed information. Excellent introductory essay at beginning of each PDF section. Updated monthly. Historical versions (1878-2012) available free on the Census Bureau site. Tip sheet.More

USA.gov

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services, as well as those of cross-government agencies and tribal governments. Provides access to over 100,000 government websites. Search the official Spanish language web portal of the U.S. Government at GobiernoUSA. For similar resources, see also FDSys and GPO Monthly Catalog.More