Show/Hide University Links

Basic Research Databases

Subject Librarian

UTSA Libraries

libraryask@utsa.edu

(210) 458-4573

Best Bets

Academic Search Complete

Indexes and abstracts more than 9,300 journals with full-text content for more than 5,300. Also indexes/abstracts over 10,000 monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Highly multidisciplinary, this resource covers social sciences, humanities, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Replaces Academic Search Premier.
More

Britannica Online

Most recent edition
Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Also contains a number of special-interest resources, such as Shakespeare and Britannica's Guide to the Nobel Prizes.

CQ Researcher

1923 to the present
Provides in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Each issue examines a single topic of public concern giving the reader a broad overview of the subject, including historical background, and a discussion of current controversies and initiatives, highlighting the range of opinions among experts.

EBL (Ebook Library)

Dates vary.
Access is only available to current UTSA students, faculty, and staff. Contains over 46,000 full-text ebooks in a variety of academic disciplines from over 1,000 publishers.

NBC Learn

varies
Provides access to over 15,000 2 to 5 minute video clips of historic NBC news reports, current events stories, and primary source documents in a number of disciplines. Includes daily updated current event stories, published Monday through Friday. Use the cue cards to easily download, annotate, cite, and embed the videos.More

Oxford English Dictionary (2nd ed.)

Premier resource for etymological studies containing the meaning, history, and derivation of over half a million words in the English language. Provides examples of both current and historical word usage through more than 2.5 million quotations from a variety of sources. Includes etymological analysis, pronunciation, and variant spellings.More

ProQuest Research Library

1971 to the present
Offers indexing/abstracting to articles in over 3,300 journals across a wide range of subject areas, more than 1,700 of which are also available in full text. Subject strengths include the arts and humanities, business, education, health, international studies, law, literature, multicultural studies, psychology, the sciences, and the social sciences.More