Show/Hide University Links

Maps & GIS Databases

Subject Librarian

Rita Wilson

rita.wilson@utsa.edu

210-458-7572

Research Guides

Maps & GIS

Best Bets

Academic Search Complete

Indexes and abstracts more than 9,300 journals with full-text content for more than 5,300. Also indexes/abstracts over 10,000 monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Highly multidisciplinary, this resource covers social sciences, humanities, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Replaces Academic Search Premier.
More

GeoRef

Selectively indexes and abstracts the geoscience literature of the world including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses and dissertations. Coverage for North America is 1785 to the present; coverage for the rest of the world is from 1933 to the present.More

JSTOR

Provides full image access to a comprehensive archive of over 2,000 scholarly journals, over 200 of which have complete backfiles. Nearly 40 subject areas are represented in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. New subjects and titles are added regularly. Links to the most recent issues of some journals are available through Project MUSE.More

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

This resource from UT Austin provides thematic maps on the international, national, state, and local levels, many of which are printable. The collection is especially strong on Texas.

SimplyMap

Most recent
This web-based mapping and data analysis application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using over 65,000 demographic, business, and marketing data variables by state, county, city/place, ZIP code, census tract, block group, or custom area. Also includes more than 4 million Points-of-Interest (POI) and Experian SimmonsLOCAL, a targeting and profiling system that provides insights into consumer behavior for all of America's 210 media markets drilled down the the block group level.More

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970

Access to Texas Digital Sanborn Maps is now provided with Digital Sanborn Maps. Refer to that entry for a detailed description.

Texas State Data Center

The Texas State Data Center and Office of the State Demographer, in cooperation with a network of affiliates, functions as a focal point for the distribution of Census information for Texas. The Center also disseminates population estimates and projections for Texas, as well as other information from the federal government, state government, and other sources.More