Show/Hide University Links

Sociology Databases

Subject Librarian

Jeff Lacy

jeff.lacy@utsa.edu

(210) 458-7507

Research Guides

Sociology

Best Bets

Humanities International Index

1925 to the present
Indexes and abstracts over 2,000 journals, books, and other internationally published works on a variety of topics in the humanities. Provides citation information for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works, including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings, and illustrations. Note: Absorbed American Humanities Index, effective December 2005.More

ScienceDirect

For some journals, begins in the 1950s
Provides full-text access to approximately 1,500 journals, and hundreds of ebooks published by Elsevier. Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 1,800 journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Dates vary.
Indexes and abstracts nearly 2,000 journals in all subdisciplines of sociology, over 300 of which have full text. Also includes 550 full-text books and monographs and 6,700 conference papers. Topics include anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, social work, and urban studies, among others. Coverage for some "core" titles begins in 1895, but most coverage begins in the mid-1990s. Title listMore

Sociological Abstracts

1952 to the present
Focuses on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, drawing from more than 1,800 journals as well as conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Sociology: A Sage Full-Text Collection

Provides full-text access to 37 journals published by Sage on topics in sociology, including contemporary and comparative sociology, consumer culture, childhood, classical sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, leisure studies, social theory, sociology of sport, and labor studies.

Web of Science

1965 to the present
Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 8,400 journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Also includes conference proceedings citations (1990 to the present).

Print equivalents published by the Institute for Scientific Information are Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index.
More

Wiley Online Library

Provides full-text access to approximately 800 journals in a variety of disciplines published by Wiley, as well as over 1,700 ebooks.